10 comics to read if you like the Matrix

With a fourth film on the way, The matrix took center stage again. Lilly and Lana Wachowski’s 1999 masterpiece forever changed action movies, mixing sci-fi, philosophy, killer action sequences, and trans subtext to become one of the defining films of the years. 90. Although the sequels weren’t as popular as the original, time has proven they are better than most thought and The matrix Trilogy has inspired a generation of fans.

RELATED: Matrix 4: 10 Things We Learned From The First Full Trailer

Comic book artists like Steve Skroce and Geoff Darrow helped design the visuals for The matrix, So comics have always been a lifeblood of the franchise. There are a lot of comic book franchise fans can read to get into The matrix state of mind ahead of the fourth film in December.


ten Ghost In The Shell Is Peak Cyberpunk Manga

Mangaka Masamune Shirow Ghost in the shell is the 90s cyberpunk manga, a beautiful sprawling work on what it means to be human in a world where technology reigns supreme. After Major Motoko Kusanagi as she tracks down a cybercriminal known as Puppet Master, Shell Ghost ‘The adaptation of the anime helped cement this art form’s hold on American pop culture. The manga is a classic, with the incredible artistry and abundant imagination of Shirow telling a story full of action and intrigue. The matrix is cyberpunk through and through, so fans will love it Ghost in the shell.

9 X-Men: Days Of Future Past Takes Readers Into A Machine-Ruled Dystopia

Wolverine protecting Kitty Pryde

X-Men: Days of Future Past, by writer Chris Claremont and artist John Byrne, is a classic X Men history and its future dystopian framework have some points in common with that of The matrix. Both take place in a world where the human race is in the grip of machines, with only a motley group of freedom fighters trying to save the world.

Although they differ on the how, Days of the future past is a massive part of The matrixDNA of. DoFP is a compact one-story punch, a two-issue epic that put dystopias on the map of mainstream comics. The Sentinels are an intimidating force, and so much on the book screams The matrix It’s not funny.

8 House Of X / Powers Of X is integral to understanding modern X-Men and plays with dystopian imagery

The matrix is heavily coded trans and queer, which it shares with the most recent version of X Men books. The X Men titles have always used queer coding to tell their stories, so they’re great for fans of The matrix. The key to understanding the new X-Men titles is reading House of X / Powers of X by writer Jonathan Hickman and artists Pepe Larraz and RB Silva.

RELATED: 5 Ways The Matrix Would Have Been Better As A TV Show (& 5 Why It Would Have Been Worse)

Ask the new one X Men status quo and shocking readers, Hickman played a lot of sci-fi elements of the X-Men and added some cyberpunk and dystopia to it as well. It’s a beautiful story and it will lead Matrix fans in a whole new world of mutant greatness.

7 Preacher is a quintessential 90s comic book

The matrix became a ’90s replacement in the minds of many, even though it came out at the end of that much-vaunted decade. The ’90s were a better time for comics than most people think and one of the highlights of that time was Preacher, by writer Garth Ennis and artist Steve Dillon. Although the two stories don’t have many structural similarities, like Preacher is basically a westerner, they share things.

Both stories focus on someone who discovers a truth about the world that he suspected but never believed, and who decides to fight it. Both are known for their epic violence, and although Preacher is not as deep as The matrix, it’s still a lot of racing.

6 Transmetropolitan mixes anti-authoritarianism with cyberpunk and science fiction

transmopolitan spider jerusalem helix

Writer Warren Ellis and artist Darick Robertson’s Trans-metropolitan is an irreverent approach by many The matrixthemes of. With Spider Jerusalem, a gonzo journalist battling a totalitarian dictatorship in a vague future, Trans-metropolitan is a rather obscure comic book that hasn’t really had a chance to shine. The tone can be very different from The matrix, but the book shares a lot with the movies.

Trans-metropolitan combines many elements of The matrix, but has a more humorous take on the whole. Anti-authoritarian cyberpunk doesn’t have to be serious like a gunshot wound and Trans-metropolitan plays that perfectly.

5 Flex Mentallo: Man Of Muscle Mystery Is A Mind-Blowing Story About Identity And Comics

Flex Mentallo: the man with the muscular mystery, by writer Grant Morrison and artist Frank Quitely, repeats Morrison’s Flex Mentallo character from Fate Patrol and puts him in his own world as he searches for clues as to what happened to his friend does. The man with the muscular mystery uses a common, cliché superhero story to deepen readers, telling a story about identity seen through the prism of comics.

The matrix tells the same kind of story through the lens of cyberpunk sci-fi, so while the attributes of the two stories are very different, the themes are quite similar. Morrison’s work and The matrix have a lot in common and this is just one example of that.

4 The Villain + The Divine is a queer masterpiece

The matrix is all about the trans experience. The Wachowskis must have toned down a lot of trans allegories because the ’90s weren’t exactly supportive of LBGTQIA + issues, which wouldn’t be a problem if the movie was shot today. A comic that was allowed to be as strange as The matrix should have been, The wicked + the divine is an epic by writer Kieron Gillen and artist Jamie McKelvie.

RELATED: The Matrix: 5 Trilogy Effects Scenes That Hold Up (& 5 That Aged Badly)

The stories don’t share a lot of narrative elements in common, but Wic + Div is allowed to be the kind of story that The matrix was not – a masterpiece of LGBTQIA + representation.

3 The Sandman talks about the power of stories and how they define the world

The Sandman # 1 by Neil Gaiman

that of Neil Gaiman The sand man is a masterpiece. Joined by artists like Sam Keith, Jill Thompson, Kelley Jones, P. Craig Russell, Michael Zulli and many more, Gaiman used the foundation of Dream and the Endless to tell a story about stories, a sprawling narrative about the how they define the lives of humanity.

Gaiman played with identity throughout the book, but more explicitly in A game of you which featured a trans woman named Wanda. Although the story is largely of its time and can be triggering due to archaic language, it strongly asserts trans issues and is a good companion for The matrix.

2 Children Of The Atom Features A Diverse Group Of Teens Trying To Find Their Way Around The World

X Men is full of great stories, but Children of the atom, by writer Vita Ayala and artist Bernard Chang, is one of the best. Starring a group of teens with powers similar to members of the X-Men, the book plays heavily with identity and much of the trans ideology that The matrix Is. In fact, a bit like The matrix, much of the book is a metaphor for transit.

Children of the atom contains some of Marvel’s best LGBTQIA + portrayals, as Ayala is non-binary and understands these issues the same way the Wachowskis understood the trans topics they covered in The matrix.

1 The matrix has raised the invisible a lot

Grant Morrison The Invisibles is probably their greatest work and inextricably linked to The matrix. Morrison watched the movie and immediately noticed many similarities between the two. After talking to some of the people involved in the film, they found out how inspired their book had been.

The two stories share a lot of similarities in the conception of history and art because everyone on set has been invited to read The Invisibles by the Wachowskis. This made Morrison very unhappy with DC’s parent company, Warner Brothers, which also distributed The matrix. Morrison and artists like Jill Thompson, Phil Jimenez, Chris Weston and many more have never been recognized for their inspiration. The matrix.

NEXT: 10 TV Shows To Watch If You Love The Matrix

Saber tooth and toad


Next
Marvel Comics’ 10 bravest villains, ranked


About the Author


Source link

About Johanna Gooding

Johanna Gooding

Check Also

Former Developer Who Inspired Cyberpunk 2077 NPC Rightly Wins YouTuber of the Year Award

Australian and Californian YouTuber Alanah Pearce, better known as Charalanahzard, recently won the “YouTuber of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *